I Guess You Could Say That

Aquarium Drunkard yesterday pointed readers at “I’m Gonna Booglarize You, Baby,” a 1972 Captain Beefheart song from Germany posted on YouTube in the ‘Comedy’ category. (Speaking of comedy, it’s funny to watch Captain B. in Germany and learn that this was him attempting to be ‘normal,’ in order to sell more records. All four songs from that TV date can be seen here.)

I didn’t pay much attention to Beefheart back in ’72 – he didn’t make a lot of sense to me in those days, and I suspected that many people only pretended to like his music in order to seem ‘hip.’ In any case, I was interested to read the Wikipedia entry for The Spotlight Kid, the album that the Captain (aka Don Van Vliet) was touring Europe to promote at the time.

I’ve been so clueless about this stuff that I’ve never realized that Zoot Horn Rollo (aka Bill Harkleroad) was a guitar player. My favorite part of the entry, mentioning how terribly Beefheart treated his Magic Band, notes that “the worst of this was directed toward Harkleroad. In his autobiography Harkleroad recalled being thrown into a dumpster, an act he interpreted as having metaphorical intent.” [my emphasis]

Yeah, getting trashed is pretty metaphorical, all right.

p.s. Apparently there’s only one copy of Rollo’s 1998 autobiography, Lunar Notes, in a library in the entire state of Maine. No surprise – it’s at the University of Maine/Machias, where the music department is headed by someone even more hip than Captain Beefheart, my musical hero Professor Gene Nichols.

About RPS

https://lelilo.wordpress.com/bio/
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

