Number, Please

Cable made an interesting comment on the phone this afternoon — we were talking about sudoku, which I like, he doesn’t. I find it intriguing how the numbers fit together so precisely in rows, columns, and boxes. He says that when he does a crossword puzzle, he might learn a new word, or even be reminded of an old favorite word, but when doing sudoku he never finds a new number, or even a new way to put numbers alongside each other. I.E. “Gee, I never saw a 9 next to a 5 and 4 like that before.” The puzzles don’t interest him, because he never learns anything from them.

(George Carlin, of course, way back when, had that routine: “The Nobel Prize in mathematics was awarded to a California professor who has discovered a new number. The number is bleen, which he claims belongs between 6 and 7.”)

I like sudoku, of course, because when I finish one I feel like I’ve accomplished something, and can take the rest of the day off.

About RPS

https://lelilo.wordpress.com/bio/
This entry was posted in U.S.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

